It Takes Motherly Qualities To Succeed

The early 20th century was very personal with how business was handled.

In the early 1900s, we would walk into any small business and the owner of that business would say “Hi” to us, and even call us by name. The owner would even know what I wanted before I even asked for it because he knew me as a person.

He had built a relationship with me and as a result, I would come back the very next day because I felt that they actually cared about me as a person, and didn’t just view me as another customer.

It took motherly qualities like this to succeed during this time, but then things started to change.

Entrepreneurs and small business owners thrived in the early 20th century. 90% of Americans were entrepreneurs at the time, while only 10% were employees.

From the 1940s to the 2000s though we began to see the collapse of the small business owner and the rise of big business corporations.

Today, that stat has completely flipped. Today, 90% of Americans are now employees, while only 10% are entrepreneurs.

It became ruthless and cut throat to succeed during this time and because it was big business, the qualities needed to succeed in this age were more fatherly.

The problem with big business though is that they didn’t care for us. They only cared about making a profit. It wasn’t like the early 1900s where businesses had a relationship with the people who they did business with. It was very impersonal during this time.

But since the turn of the century, we are now seeing the extinction of big business corporations and are starting to see again the rise of the small business sole proprietor owner.

The qualities that it took to succeed during the age of big business are not the same qualities it’s going to take to succeed in the 21st century.

The qualities of empathy, compassion, ability to care and honesty are going to be just as important for success as determination, persistence and commitment.

If you’re going to want to get someone’s business, have someone buy something from you, or get someone to work with you, then you’re going to have to actually care a lot about them as a person.

4 thoughts on “It Takes Motherly Qualities To Succeed

  1. your article reminded me that service is something people almost don’t expect anymore. I can remember shopping at Mervyns and standing in a line for 15 minutes then the clerk closed the line because it was her break time and no one was scheduled to cover her register. I put the items I was going to buy down and left never to return to that store again. It was not the clerks fault, the store was saving money!
    There was a small boutique shop in Lincoln Center in Stockton where they got to know you and your name, offered advice on what to pair your item with even when it was at a different store. I could buy an outfit and she would tell me where I could find the perfect shoes and bag to go with it. I was willing to pay a bit more for her service and knew I would ALWAYS get service there.
    Financial services are the same thing.. without service I/we don’t go back. We called Wells Fargo to talk to them about a financial advisor for our stock.. they never called back. We will never use them again.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I couldn’t have said it any better. That is the whole premise behind my small business. I’m a one woman show but my clients are treated as though they are my only ones. It’s all in the details which big business cares nothing about. I converse with my clients on a personal level and find out what they actually NEED and provide that to them with all of my attention. I am not interested in upselling or pushing services on them that they don’t really need even though that means my initial income from them is less. In doing so I know they will return when more needs are warranted. I build relationships not business deals. Some may see this as business suicide but my motto is transparency is a must and follow it for every client.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so sorry for responding to this so late so forgive me, but I’m glad you could resonate with this:) one of my favorite entrepreneurs calls this the “thank you” economy which is the idea that you basically need to care for others and give lots of value to them in order get value in return. In the “thank you” economy, business and entrepreneurs that can’t do this won’t be in business for long. Most people understand this but just don’t want to care for the people who they do business with, but in order to build a business or a brand, you need to build relationships first. This takes time, but in the long run, you’ll still be in business. Sounds like you’re doing it right based off of your comment:) I’m glad you liked it:)

      Like

Leave a Reply

