Love Will Make Or Break Your Happiness

Sigmund Freud once said that you need to get two things right in your life in order to be happy. You need to get work right, but more importantly, you need to get love right.

A good marriage is one of the life factors most strongly and consistently associated with happiness. Much of the apparent benefit of being in a good marriage is that it provides a real and long lasting dependable companionship, which is a basic need for human beings.

However, nothing in life has the ability to break your happiness more than being in a bad relationship.

In the book “The Happiness Hypothesis,” Jonathan Haidt, a professor at New York University’s Stern School of Business, says,

“Conflict in relationships, such as having chronic conflict with your spouse is one of the surest ways to reduce your happiness. You never adapt to interpersonal conflict. It damages everyday, even days when you don’t see the other person but ruminate about the conflict nonetheless.”

If you’re in a bad relationship, then no matter how much wealth you have, how healthy you are, or how much you love your work, you will always find it very difficult to be happy.

If you want to be extremely happy, make sure you get the love part of your life right.

9 thoughts on “Love Will Make Or Break Your Happiness

  1. Great post. I’ve always believed that people in general dictate the amount of happiness and success in our lives. So when people begin to become a problem, I usually cut them loose. This is probably why I don’t want kids. I can’t just divorce them when they get on my nerves..

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I don’t want kids. I’m terrified of the thought. A dog is already so much of a hindrance when I want to travel, I can’t imagine a child… My husband wants kids. I wish him luck getting pregnant lol

        Maybe in another ten years I’ll change my mind.

        Like

      2. Well, he made it bad for himself on that one. The bad thing he did was tied to his uncalled for reaction when I switched birth controls and went hormonal for a month. Can’t handle me hormonal for a month, can’t handle me hormonal for 10. So I’ll take a rain check.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Love isn’t always easy. I think about the conversation that I had with one of my 8th grade students the other day. He came in so upset because his “crush” has suddenly started to like his best friend. His “crush” never reciprocated his feelings, and that hurt him to the point that he said he just wanted to kill himself. We had a long conversation about how only being in the 8th grade, he isn’t even emotionally mature enough to completely understand his feelings. In fact maybe it doesn’t have to do with age, because full grown adults continue to have problems and continue to make mistakes with the people they choose to have relationships with. I also told him that someday, when he’s older, that he’s going to have a crush on a girl that is going to have a crush on him back, he just has to be patient and wait for that day, and until then, just be the kind of person that someone would have a crush on. We talked about how he’s had crushes before, and how he felt like he wanted to die before, and how he doesn’t feel the same way about THAT girl today. Feelings will come and go, I asked him if he believed me, he said, “Yes”, and he smiled at me. This boy has autism. Thank goodness I don’t believe in a soul mate, I couldn’t imagine how awful it would be if there was only one person who was made for you, and it was your job to continuously search out this person until you found them? Ugh!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

