Not Everyone You’re Friends With On Facebook Sees Your Posts

At one point, college students were the only people who were on Facebook. Compared to now, the audience was small so people’s News Feeds were ordered chronologically. But as Facebook’s audience changed and attention from Facebook began to shift, Facebook had to figure out a way to keep people interested.

Their solution was to make sure that people’s News Feeds didn’t include posts that people weren’t interested in.

Facebook begin to curate it’s own content to make sure that only the content people cared about would be shown to them, meaning when you post to Facebook, not everyone sees it.

This is something that not everyone realizes.

You’re not seeing every post from every person you follow because Facebook is organizing your News Feed based on an algorithm that is constantly calculating which posts are going to be the most interesting to people by tracking the engagement that each post is getting.

The more engagement a piece of content has, the more Facebook will think that you will be interested in it and it will show it in your News Feed.

Notice that if you start liking a bunch of posts from a specific person then you’re going to start seeing more posts from that person.

Facebook is trying to put out content that is most appealing to users, while leaving out content that it thinks its users will ignore.

As a Facebook user, this is great.

As a marketer and content creator, it can be frustrating trying to figure out how to get your message seen and out to the world

Because of this, you want to give Facebook the kind of content it wants to share. The best way to help Facebook with this is to create unique specific content for your audience that they are guaranteed to like so that they can help you reach more people.

But how do you do that?

First, you don’t want to post too often because if you’re posting too much then you’re not giving people a chance to like and engage with your content.

Second, you want to publish content that is relevant to your audience. What may be considered good by you may not be considered good by others.

Third, share the kind of content that people will want to share, meaning you want to craft your content in a way that people will think “Oh yea, I like that,” and want to click ‘share.’

It’s not good enough to just post a link with a caption that says, “New blog post,” or a picture with just another boring description.

Something better to do would be if you use a quote from the article that you’re sharing that you know will be relevant to your audience and that they can easily read and would like.

When someone ‘likes’ it, that ‘like’ helps move your article into more people’s News Feeds.

The more people that engage with it, the more people who are going to see it.

Facebook is the only social network that actually punishes people for posting bad content, and bad content is defined by Facebook as content that people aren’t engaging with, that people aren’t clicking ‘like’ on or connecting with. When building your personal brand, content is key, but putting out content just to put out content will be counter productive. In a world full of noise, only great content is going to break through and reach the consumer.

35 thoughts on “Not Everyone You’re Friends With On Facebook Sees Your Posts

  1. There are some accounts that post all day every day and do extremely well. Your Tango is one such website. I think it all depends on how much traction you build up, what you’re posting, and what your audience likes.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree that you can post more if you have traction, but the more you post, the more diluted your engagement will be. People just don’t have time to be clicking like on 10 pieces of content every day and if it isn’t good, it just comes off as spam. What is Your Tango though?

      Like

      1. I do believe the more you post the more you dilute engagement. This is why I stopped posting every day on Instagram for my clients.

        However, even on Facebook there are big lifestyle & entertainment blogs who post several times per hour and do engage with followers.

        Their aim is to pop up in your timeline often enough to drop by and once you do, you usually get sucked in if the content is great.

        Elite Daily: https://www.facebook.com/EliteDaily

        Cosmo: https://www.facebook.com/Cosmopolitan

        Your Tango: https://www.facebook.com/YourTango

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I had no idea the average millionaire gets married early but this is perhaps more true for men than women.

        Women are more hindered by family and relationship duties than men, which is why many pursue a more independent path, myself included.

        We’re usually the ones expected to forego our dreams to take care of the home, or to support the men. Or so I’ve seen.

        I just got married last year at 26, which is way earlier than I planned. But I still believe in the importance of developing into separate wholesome individuals before offerings ourselves as “the better half” to someone else.. Then at that point, we must work together as a unit, like you said.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Men and women who feel they have a partner they can depend on are more confident about pursuing their own path. This is counterintuitive to the idea that you have to be independent first before you depend on someone else. This is known as the dependency paradox, which I think I mentioned in the article. Also scientifically, the happiest relationships are relationships where couples met earlier in their life so couples who are high school sweet hearts tend to be happier than couples who met in their 30s at their work. I say that because I believe that if you find the right partner to depend on, and earlier the better, then that person will have a lot of great effects on your happiness, independency and even finances. You have more experience than me probabaly because you’re married and older, so let me know what you think? I could be wrong on this.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. All the high school sweethearts we know are miserable. They’ve stayed together because they grew up together and are now afraid to separate. That model worked great back in the day, but not for this generation.

        Also early marriage is linked to a lot of disadvantages for women versus advantages for men. Early marriages for women are tied to poverty, lower education levels, and lower chances of career success – especially if children are involved.

        I do believe having a partner to depend on makes a world of difference, but you can only make a good whole when you have two full halves, and that means taking the time to work on ourselves as well, so that we bring more to the unit.

        Just my opinion.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. The ability to consider diverse opinions will take you far in life.

        What did you think of my article on learning to disagree without fighting in a relationship?

        Liked by 1 person

      6. I liked all the points you mentioned. Effective communication is extremely important in relationships. The ability to express your needs to your partner in a direct, non accusatory manner is an important tool to preventing arguments. I’m not sure if I agree with the first tip of suppressing your feelings for a bit and giving your partner “suspicious silence” until you feel better to talk about it or until he apologizes. I think feelings are valid and should be expressed immediately. In attachment theory, they would call turning away from your partner “protest behavior” and this can lead to problems, but if you’re not experiencing problems from doing that then I assume that your partner has a “secure” attachment style. but I wouldn’t recommend the first tip to other people. the other 4 were good

        Liked by 1 person

      7. Thank you. I’m glad you at least agreed on most points. I love your honesty.

        As for the first one, I’ve learned that people need to calm down before saying exactly what they’re thinking. When we don’t, we often times end up saying things we don’t mean, or saying things in a harsh way that can easily lead to offence.

        So number one was just a humorous way of saying shut up until you’re calm and can address the issue in a non-accusatory manner.

        For me that usually means saying nothing at all, because I’m completely lost in thought. It’s not really about delivering a dose of deliberate silent treatment. I’m just busy having conversations in my head..

        Liked by 1 person

      8. That makes sense to me. As long as it doesn’t make your partner mad and he understands and you’re both patient, then there’s no harm being done. I just think that’s something that works for you and 25% of other people, while all the other points works for everyone. You have a lot of good thoughts on relationships, I enjoy that:)

        Liked by 1 person

      9. Yes, that’s true. I am an INTJ so my opinions aren’t necessarily popular are applicable to all. You seem to have a good background in psychology so I figure you know about the Myers Briggs and all that.

        There was one time it did make him angry though, but that was out of guilt, rather than an error on my part. He knew what he had done and was mad at himself for it. I think most guys would prefer an argument in that situation, over a silent woman. It’s like when you were a kid and you know you’d been bad and your mom made you feel worse by being icily civil instead of scolding you, because you both know you should know better than to do whatever you did. Makes sense?

        Otherwise though, it’s worked pretty well for me in all relationships.

        Liked by 1 person

      10. Oh really?! Wow. That explains a lot. They say only 1 to 3% of the world is INTJ so I’m always surprised to find you guys. Haha.

        Would you say the stereotypes are true?

        Liked by 1 person

      11. 1 to 3%? that’s crazy. well aren’t INTJ stereotypically supposed to be very awkward, very introverted? I would say the stereotype of introverted is true, but I wouldn’t say I’m awkward though lolz

        Liked by 1 person

      12. No, not awkward. The INTJ is the one who believes in justice over mercy. I remember that line lol. We’re also logical thinkers, great with abstract concepts, and emotionally aloof. Not known for being particularly affectionate partners or parents but very faithful and matter of fact. I think I’m affectionate but I’ve been told I’m not… by like… everyone… so… LoL

        Like

      13. That was my point though, that we consider ourselves emotional and affectionate enough, but to other people we’re not. Also you’re a guy and can get away with being more aloof than me. LoL.

        Like

      14. Yep. The last guy I dated before my husband once told me that a blender has more feelings than me. When I told him I was offended he laughed and told me to stop playing…

        I don’t think that’s always or necessarily the case though. Maybe we just express ourselves differently..?

        Like

      15. Haha. Well like I said nature and nurture! I got sucked into the internet wormhole on your blog. It was so hard to escape.

        My gay bestie is the only other INTJ I know. He’s not particularly affectionate either.

        Like

      16. Me neither. The one I did also suggested a friend do the test for you on your behalf to compare the results. Still got INTJ.

        Remember that all those letters fall into percentages though. So you could be more of one thing than the other, than me. I don’t remember what they mean though, unfortunately.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I did not know this about Facebook and it’s contents and did wonder why I don’t see some posts from friends but have learned to click into their site when I find them especially interesting or sharing things I do want to know about.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Probably knowing that you are expected to post stuff ‘people might like’. I don t think the criteria would be ‘rad’ but just based on ‘normal’ expectations … Maybe politically correct was not a good expression, I give you that, though.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. so on Facebook, only 5% of people who you’re friends with will see your posts and if you’re a business owner or a marketer, then you want that number to go up, but the only way to do that is to post good content so Facebook will show it to more people. It’s just how it is. You can do the other option which is to post whatever you want and risk having it not get any engagement, but if you’re trying to build a brand or sell a product, that’s not really something you can do in my opinion. Can I ask you question? I was looking at your blog and I’m curious how long have you been blogging for?

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Thanks for sharing your views… as to your question, I have been blogging for a long time now… I´d say that I started 6 or 7 years ago… not sure though… best regards, Aquileana

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

