Sam Walton: The Most Successful Businessman Who Ever Lived

When it comes to the founder of Walmart Sam Walton’s autobiography, “Sam Walton: Made in America,” it makes me realize just how many people misprioritize what they read in life.

There are millions of people in the world who all wish to start a business and many more who want to make a living doing something that they love.

And in pursuit of this goal, people will spend $100,000 just to get an MBA at Harvard. They’ll spend thousands of dollars to attend a seminar and they’ll spend even more trying to go to every business conference they can.

But what they don’t choose to do, however, is read a $5 book written by Sam Walton, who is by all measures arguably the most successful businessman who ever lived.

Throughout his entire life, business experts and money managers praised Sam Walton and his ability to succeed.

In 1980, a panel of 50 securities analysts chose Sam Walton as the most astounding CEO in the United States. The same publication’s survey also named him CEO of the decade in 1989. And in 1990, the United Shareholders Association ranked Walmart number one among 1,000 publicly held corporations.

Even Sam Walton’s competitors praised him. Stanley Marcus of the department store retailer Neiman-Marcus called Walton “a prime exemplar of entrepreneurship.” And Harry Cunningham, who is the founder of Walmart’s archrival, Kmart, put it even more simply when he said, “He is the greatest businessman of this century.”

Remember, this was a man who made 160 billion dollars for himself and his family, which is more than Bill Gates, Warren Buffett and Elon Musk combined!

Wanting to share his story and spread a message to the world, Walton decided to write this book on his deathbed.

It’s a shame that more people choose to prioritize reading a book about vampires over a book about a man who was able to build one of the most successful brands in the world. A brand that will probably be one of the first to be worth over a trillion dollars someday.

7 thoughts on “Sam Walton: The Most Successful Businessman Who Ever Lived

  1. Hi Vincent, Thanks for this interesting and I really can say I never knew this. I feel you passion and disappointment in this article. I don’t know if I want to be an entrepreneur, or self made. But then , what is self made. What is success – as I said in my post a while back success is different for all. I think with everything that the last 5 years have made me see and especially the last 2 – I feel I just want to be a good person and my success is in being good – even if the other is not. And you know me – I always have Karma at the back of my mind, and that doesnt mean I dont enjoy life – but It puts a different perspective on my life, and then I believe we are souls and we are eternal – so my outlook is always – not the normal especially when it comes to success.

    My reading list is way long, and I still haven’t finished crush it and that is a small book. BTW – I like Gary’s writing style and so far enjoying Crush it – very motivating.

    great post, look forward to reading your next post.
    Bella

    Like

  2. I am an avid hockey fan but also a fan of business entrepreneurs like Daryl Katz. He paid $200 million for the Edmonton Oilers in 2008 and he is currently working to refocus his efforts to build Canada’s largest mixed use-sports and entertainment district. He is by far one of the most successful businessmen in North America. Check out this link for more info about his current business dealings. http://www.theglobeandmail.com/report-on-business/with-rexall-deal-owner-daryl-katz-free-to-refocus-business-empire/article29006191/

    Like

  3. Sam Walton is a very interesting story. I have another story to share. I am an avid hockey fan but also a fan of business entrepreneurs like Daryl Katz. His family pharmacy empire grew tenfold under his direction and management. He paid $200 million for the Edmonton Oilers . in 2008 and he is currently working to refocus his efforts to build Canada’s largest mixed use-sports and entertainment district. He is by far one of the most successful businessmen in North America. I am looking forward to seeing how he helps to take this team to the next level and what is next venture will be. He is really focusing on helping Edmonton become a fantastic tourist destination.

    Like

Leave a Reply

