Content Is Not Enough, It Takes Context

Everyone thinks that if they just start a blog, then by simply putting out blog posts alone is all it will take to become a success.

The problem with that though is that there is a supply and demand issue in creating content.

There is so much supply of content that it’s no longer enough to just put out good daily content by itself anymore. It takes context now to really build a following.

Building context with people is what will get people to see your blog, but your content is what will make sure they stay.

When it comes to creating content, it’s best to try to put out content daily or to get as close as you can to that as possible. Seven days a week is obviously better than six days a week, and five days is better than four days, but if you’re only writing once or twice a week and trying to build a following, are you really doing it?

If you’re knowledgeable on your topic and you love to talk about it with others, this shouldn’t be too hard for you to do.

Your content should be the best it can be, but it also shouldn’t be taking the majority of your time to create. If you’re passionate about your subject and it’s important enough to you to make the time for it, then it should be the least time consuming activity of your day.

The majority of your time should be spent on building context and it is this activity that will be the biggest factor to your success.

Creating context is all about building relationships with those who are passionate about the same things you are, and you build these relationships with other people by reading what is they have to say and engaging with them.

In the book “Crush It,” Gary Vaynerchuk, who is the CEO of VaynerMedia, talks about how he built his personal brand when he was building his first business WineLibrary from a 3 to a 60 million dollar business.

In the book, he says,

“I would read hundreds of blog posts (every day) and leave comments on many of them. I’d spend time on wine forums and read what other people said and then comment on those comments too.”

If you do this then eventually you’ll start to see more people checking out your blog and if your content is good enough, they’ll become a daily reader.

When you start to get people consistently listening to you, that’s when you know you’re successfully building context with people.

Don’t worry about the number of people following you in the beginning. What matters most is the community you create and the amount of interaction within that community.

As long as you’re seeing your audience grow over the first year, you’re doing what you’re supposed to be doing.

32 thoughts on “Content Is Not Enough, It Takes Context

  1. That was a great post! I agree…good content is essential, but to build a relationship with the readers by indulging them through the words you pour out and building that connect is far more difficult and probably the more important bit!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s definitely more difficult and in my opinion I do think it’s the more important part. There are lots of writers who many consider merely good but they’re popular because of their ability to create that relationship with their readers:)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow! I love this post! I agree with you about building relationship with people who have the same interest. I have sooo many interest that I follow many different types of bloggers. I believe we have so much to learn from each other.
    My I don’t agree with everything here but you have many good points 🙂
    My I reblog this post later if that is ok for you?

    Liked by 2 people

  3. This is a great post, with some great pointers. I write because of what comes from my heart to be shared. I was never convinced about posting everyday or more frequently …I post once a week, rarely twice …you have made me think regarding my point of views regarding the same.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great post. The hard part of blogging, in my humble opinion, is not only how frequent we blog, but what we blog about. Determining what one’s niche is can be daunting to say the least.
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I like this post and agree that building on context is important, however do not agree with a few things. For starters it is not always possible to churn out great posts when we are writing something everyday, not always. Secondly not all readers can take out the time to read someone’s post everyday, no matter how great it might be. Well that is my view, somebody else may not agree.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. yea I think I disagree. I wrote a post talking about how you shouldn’t strive to write a great post once a week but instead you should strive to write posts that are “good enough” every day. Eventually you get good enough to where you can write great posts every day. you can read it if you like. I’ll link it at the bottom.

      And I agree that not all readers will take out time to read a post from you everyday. But if you’re great at building context with people then you should be able to turn monthly or weekly readers in to daily readers.

      https://vincentcarlos.com/2016/05/08/what-picasso-bach-and-godin-all-have-in-common/

      Like

  6. I have to agree with this statement as well. I have been trying to keep up with the daily word prompts and as a result, my other blogging postings have suffered. While I enjoy the word prompts, I also enjoy creating content for my blog more. Trying to find the appropriate balance is hard.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. I love this post, and I can say that I agree with everything in this post. These tips have been helpful for me to grow and evolve since day one of my journey. The moment you go from content to context, you realize you are doing something right with your work.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. a good size post is 350 words, and everyone should be able to write 350 words a day, let alone a week. That shouldn’t be the hard part. Often times though, most people try to write the perfect post so they spend more time than they need to and usually use more words than they need to trying to make it perfect. If one post a week is a lot for someone to read then it just means they follow too many people to read a post a day from a specific individual, but if your content is unique, it provides value and helps people out then of course they’ll read a post a day from you.

      I’m glad you liked my post:) and please tell me your thoughts on my response:)

      Liked by 3 people

      1. oh okay that makes more sense that you feel the way you do then. Just remember that there are a lot of successful bloggers who write long posts once a week and some even only once a month. Everyone has a different way of doing things. It’s all about finding what works for you:)

        Liked by 3 people

  8. I have been observing thoses with hugh following only post once or twice a week, which you can when you have a massive following. I believe the trick is as you say Vincent reading and commenting, also other social media helps to get readers and followers. I try not to write long post, i am not a perfect writer i hit publish to quickly. I spend less time on my writing as i do on commenting. I get writers block a few times because i am not a writer. I have quite a few topics but i struggle to make them simple because some of them are quite deep. Thanks for the reminder. Oh i am still struggling with regular blogging content not a natural writer.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. yea when you start gaining a following, I guess you can start to ease up with how much you post.

      Spending more time commenting than writing is what you should be doing.

      I’m not sure if you have to be a natural writer to be good at blogging. it’s more so you have to love writing and talking about your topic with others. you need some basic writing skill, but you don’t need to be great at it by any means.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Awesome post Vincent! I listened to Crush it! (audiobook) and loved the content immediately. Gary offers so much valueable content for every entrepreneur, big or small. My favourite chapter is chapter 10 where he gives you a blueprint on how to turn your passion into a business. It’s really simple but takes time to see results. Hope to see you around. Good luck with your blog, fellow Vincent!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Denershan! I’m glad you liked the post:) Crush It is definitely one of my favorite books so I’m glad you liked that book as well. I agree with you that it’s simple, but it takes time. I always remember Chris Brogan, who is a popular marketing blogger, once said that it took him 3 years to get his first 100 subscribers. He definitely had patience. I appreciate your kind words, good luck with you as well:)

      Like

Leave a Reply

