Be A Seeker

(I’m sorry, I’m currently editing this post. It won’t make sense as it currently is.)

I read a lot of books and every once in awhile, I’ll find a book that completely changes my life, whether it was because it changed the way I thought about an important subject or because it changed something I do on a daily basis.

Out of all the books I’ve read, there have been a few books I’ve read that have had this kind of effect on me.

However, every time I find a book that positively affects my life like this, I can’t help but wonder, why is it that no one ever told me to read that book before?

Unfortunately, this is because most people aren’t what I consider to be seekers.

A seeker is someone who actively seeks out new ideas on how to live a happy and successful life.

The problem though is that most people aren’t seekers, which is unfortunate because the greatest ideas in the world that teach us about how to live a happy and successful life are locked up in books. And these books never get read because most people aren’t seeking to read books that will improve their life. Instead, they only read books like Twilight and Harry Potter.

A book I constantly talk about is “Attached” by Amir Levine and Rachel Heller because it’s a book that has completely changed how I thought about a very important subject in life: love.

This is a book that has drastically changed my life and it’s a book that I had to seek out and find for myself.

Finding this book has really changed my life, but the only reason I was lucky enough to read it was because this book was recommended to me by someone who I consider a seeker.

I recommend you read “Attached” because I wish someone would have been a seeker and recommended it to me earlier in my life.

But in return, my question for you though is, what’s a book that has had a real lasting positive change on your life that you wish someone would have told you to read earlier in your life? I’m curious to know what you say.

18 thoughts on “Be A Seeker

  1. Alchemist. – recent
    1000 splendid suns .. recently

    A story about a girl that had cystic fibrosis -readers digesr when i was small

    The voyagers… i dont know if this main stream publication. Age when iwas younger

    Raja yoga meditation taught by brahma kumaris changed my life and continues to change my life

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Bella:) thank you for the recommendations. I have read the alchemist before, I love that book, a lot of great insightful quotes in that book. The story about the girl sounds interesting. how did reading 1000 splendid suns change your life? And is it based on a true story?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think 1000 splendid sun is fiction… but it changed me in that it shock me.. in that you can believe the horror of Afghanistan and Taliban…it made feel that even thou they went thru so much she still carried on with life and didn’t succumb to pain and she could have cause her life… read the book

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Khaled Hosseini , also wrote kite runner. Both are great books. But a 1000 spendid suns is quite. …. i finished it in two/3 days.. normally i give to mum to read… but i gave it charity shop… i thing because the author is from Afghanistan and he did research the story is quite true like… but heart breaking … and makes the horrors of afganisthan real in away…

        Liked by 1 person

  2. A book that I may recommend to you, that’s a hard question 🙂
    There is a book that changed my life, it’s so deep and intense, and Im sure you will find it a source for so many questions and thoughts 🙂
    Islam Between East and West, by Alija Izetbegović
    I hope you read it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Courage to Change.. one day at a time in Alanon
    I went from being an enabler and lost to finding my true self, finding the Creator in a recovery room and meeting, and listening to some very courageous people including myself who need to change and found the tools there to do it..

    Liked by 1 person

  4. A Return to Love by Marianne Williamson and The Seat of the Soul by Gary Zukav. If you’re open to it, the bible. The bible redirected my course in life some time ago and I credit it for my awakening. Some other things were in play at that time, it was a shift that caused me great distress and joy. For this reason, I believe the bible came alive in a way.

    Have you ever craved answers to questions to point that it consumed you in a way? That’s how this period was for me. I consumed so much during this time. I would have thought that the bible would have convinced me that Jesus and Christianity was the only way, but it didn’t. It convinced me that, all those rules and boundaries that had I set for myself no longer served me. I will add that, I needed the bible because it played a huge part in my beliefs as a child. To go there makes sense now because that’s where a lot of questions went unanswered for far too long.

    As for the other two books I mentioned, I hear my own voice raise up in agreement and I found myself thinking, only people who have experienced a shift/awakening can write in this space.

    Thank you for the recommendation, I will add it to my list!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I like to consider I’m open to reading new things. I do have a bible, but I have never read it from cover to cover. It is something on my list to read though. It’s inspiring to know how big of an influence it’s had on you. I’ve never heard of A return to love though, it sounds very interesting to me. I will have to check that one out and write about it one day. Thank you for the recommendations:)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

