This Post Wasn’t Written For You

If I say something in this post that you don’t agree with, does that mean you’re just going to ignore what I said and leave a hateful comment?

Are you going to call me ignorant, stupid, or a lousy writer for saying something that may not resonate with you?

Will you get offended if something I say doesn’t apply to you?

If that’s you then understand that what I wrote probably wasn’t written for you.

This is what Seth Godin talks about in his book “The Icarus Deception.”

In this book, Seth Godin explains that people’s opinions of your work shouldn’t really matter to you because the work you created wasn’t made for them in the first place.

When I write a certain post for example, I don’t write to appeal to everyone. Instead, I write to appeal to a certain type of individual.

Some people who fit the description of my intended audience will resonate with my thoughts and approve of it.

Others however may think what I wrote is common sense and that it wasn’t worth their time.

Writing about something that doesn’t resonate with you doesn’t make me ignorant. It just means you weren’t the person I had in mind when I was writing about that specific subject.

This doesn’t mean you’re not allowed to disagree with me. Respectfully disagreeing is fine. Hate however is not.

20 thoughts on “This Post Wasn’t Written For You

  1. Couldn’t agree more. Read it and move on. If you like it and want to compliment the author, do so. If you don’t like it, think so to yourself and move on. After all no one is forcing us to read others’ blogs.
    If I like what I read, I compliment the author. If I don’t, I move on. Why complicate life.
    Good post.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you! completely agree. People don’t understand that when you’re reading something written by an individual, you’re reading a point of view. If that point of view doesn’t apply to you then you’re in the wrong conversation.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. interesting since I felt that I was getting to see and understand the writer and their thoughts and opinions rather than how it affects me. I don’t always post a remark but I read all your posts and feel I’m getting to know you better with each one. The things you find of interest and are willing to share with your readers.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. that’s impressive actually. most people don’t read things to learn from other people’s perspectives, but that’s how it should be:)

      I’m glad you’re getting to know me better, that means a lot:)

      Like

  3. AAAAAAAAMENNNNNN Vincent! Ever notice that the little haters who write nasty comments really don’t have the courage (or ability) to write like you do. People in our society today are so threatened that they just lash out at other people because of their own insecurities. I think it would be sad and boring to live in a world where everyone agrees on everything. The problem is, today – people don’t know how to respectfully disagree with someone.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you liked it!! I completely agree:) People who lash out at other people’s opinions also do so because they tend to never fully have a strong argument. Then when their opinion gets challenged, instead of respectfully arguing, they just like to attack because usually they can’t argue their side well enough. I very much liked your comment by the way:) very well put:)

      Like

Leave a Reply

