The Secret To Success Is Consistency

When I first started writing, I used to always have reasons why today wasn’t a good day to be productive.

“I should get some work done today, but I much rather hang out with my girlfriend instead.”

“I need to write a new article this week, but it’s Monday. I should just wait until the weekend to do it.”

“I can’t do any work today because I haven’t exercised yet and I need to do that first.”

The excuses went on and on.

Then one day, I realized that if I wanted to start seeing results with my writing, then I had to stop treating my work as if it was just a hobby.

If I wanted to see real results, then I had to start putting in real effort. Even when I didn’t feel like it. Especially when I didn’t feel like it.

Here’s something that’s counterintuitive: the road to success is often boring.

Yes, it’s fun to reap the rewards that hard work provides, but the actual work itself, the daily grind, can often be boring and unglamorous.

The path to success is going to be filled with repetitive tasks that don’t seem to be making a difference, but they add up when you do them day after day. Week after week. Month after month.

It’s like Darren Hardy says in his book “The Compound Effect.”

He says,

“I want you to know in your bones that your only path to success is through a continuum of mundane, unsexy, unexciting, and sometimes difficult daily disciplines compounded over time.”

The road to success is boring, but worth it.

The journey is hard, but if you stay consistent with the right things, then you’ll eventually start seeing results.

In fact, the most important factor to your success will be your ability to stay consistent with your work even when it’s boring.

2 thoughts on “The Secret To Success Is Consistency

Leave a Reply

