50 Things I Want To Do (And Will Do) In My Life

In the book “The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People,” Stephen R. Covey talks about the importance of knowing what you want in life.

Covey talks about the idea that life is meant to be lived out intentionally. It’s not meant to be left up to chance.

More often than not though, this is what most people tend to do.

Most kids in college for example go to school without ever knowing what they’re doing there.

They haven’t seem to have given the slightest thought about what their ideal life would look like.

As a result, they go about each day waiting until someone tells them what they should do next.

They’re unaware. They have no direction. And they have no goals.

Just a year ago, I felt like this. Not sure what I wanted to do with my life and because of this, not doing anything with my life.

As a result, I started considering what I wanted my life to look like. So I decided to take a different approach and to think every day about who I eventually want to become.

The benefit of knowing what you want in life is that you start seeing opportunities all around you to then act on what you want.

This allows you to act on your goals faster and to take the shorter less conventional routes.

What would have taken you 10 years to accomplish now only takes you one year because you know whose advice to take, what opportunities to say yes to, and what information is important for you to learn.

So here’s my list of 50 things that I want to do (and will do) with my life in the next 20 years.

(If it’s bolded, that means I’ve achieved it.)

1) Publish a book

2) Run a marathon

3) Appear in a magazine

4) Start a non-profit organization

5) Get married

6) Become a dad

7) Start a podcast where I interview authors about the books they’ve written

8) Write for Inc/Entrepreneur magazine

9) Give a TED talk

10) Learn photography as a hobby

11) Travel the world for an entire year

12) Own a tailored suit

13) Mentor someone

14) Attend a Game 7 Dodger World Series

15) Attend a Raider Super Bowl

16) Work at Vaynermedia for 3 years

17) Start my own business

18) Teach an online course

19) Have one of the most popular book clubs on the internet

20) Own a Lamborghini

21) Hire/Employ someone

22) Own a house with a library in it

23) Fly first class

24) Become an investor

25) Exercise regularly

26) Attend a gala ball

27) Do something to payback my parents for raising me

28) Meet the President

29) Speak at a company who would have never hired me

30) Read at least 500 new books

31) Create a source of residual income, not passive income

32) Have someone tell me I’ve changed their life

33) Become a LinkedIn ‘Top Voice’

34) Swim in The Great Barrier Reef

35) Learn to become a morning person

36) Learn to not regularly stay up late

37) Tip a waiter $100

38) Have a restaurant where I can go to and say, “I’ll have the usual.”

39) Win a business award

40) Learn to constantly try to disprove my opinions by looking at the other side

41) Experience a white Christmas

42) Teach my kid to be a Dodger fan

43) Consult with someone’s business

44) Propose in a way that’s completely original

45) Buy my dad an original authentic Jackie Robinson jersey

46) Buy my mom the kitchen of her dreams

47) Be published by a big name publication website

48) Drink a $1,000 bottle of wine

49) Meet Gary Vaynerchuk

50) Be someone who is known for talking about good ideas

Well there’s my list. This was a list that was very hard to create because it really forces you to think about what you really want from life.

But I know because I created this list, it’ll make my life better. I recommend you do the same. If you do, then please let me know about it, I would love to read it.

25 thoughts on “50 Things I Want To Do (And Will Do) In My Life

  1. Vincent, so love this. I always post about daily intentions. It so important to have goals .. you have an impressive list.

    I tjink 36 and 35 are cinnected.. my dad always sad early to early to rise makes a person healthy , wealthy and wise.

    My take on 27 is .. do it now in all the small things, helping out where one is normal lazy, suprise them wuth little things or big things, daily weekly. That is the best way.. paying back is more than just money.. it is all the emotional stuff.. that means the world.

    I never wrote my list down.. but i have achieved a lot . But now i have pick some more goals.

    I love this post if yours.

    Regards bella

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Bella:) And I can see that, I guess what I mean by that was that I want to send my parents on a vacation or something and give them some time to actually relax and take a break, which requires money, but I understand what you mean by emotional giving back as well. I wish you all the luck with your new goals Bella, I’m sure you’ll reach them:)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hey i get that giving them a holiday. I given mum loads of hols. But dad passed away during my final year of uni so i was able to give him anything like a holiday… but each day i had with him when i was young was special. Thats why i say what i say.. every moment no matter so small counts with our parents… no matter how small.. grand is grand…but small is in the heart for ever and it gives a support to them like no other. Dad was only 52 when he died. I was only 22 . Before he died i had come from uni for revision , otherwise i stayed away. We went for a walk and he asked who will look after her (aka mum) he knew he was dying.. and i was like what are you saying.. and i also said there is no doubt i will be there for mum… money doesnt buy that.. extreme point.. but thats what is important when it come to parents as well as holidays.. small things count more ..big thing also count

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your list Vincent and am confident in your ability to achieve it all.

    I would like to discuss further your comment on college kids being directionless – do you think there should be more done to help them find direction at that age or do you think this is something that comes with age and experience?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the support! I really appreciate that:))

      Well I think there should be more programs in school that aren’t just academics. I think all skills and gifts that students have should be given an opportunity to grow. skills in music, photography, art, dance, etc. With all the budget cuts though, this has been difficult to do.

      I think students need to be more aware of this then, but you don’t know what you don’t know. This is why students start to get more direction in their life when they’re older because they become more aware of it, not because of age being a sign of wisdom in my opinion.

      This is a complex topic, with no simple solutions, and it’s an issue that both education and students have to be participants in.

      To simply answer your question though, I do think there should be more done by schools to prepare students for what they want to achieve in life.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Thanks for sharing you opinion Vincent, I agree that more could be done, although I am also hesitant to put too much pressure on educators, maybe it’s more a parental/community responsibility?

    But I probably moreso lean to the belief that it’s pretty hard at that age to know what you want from life, it’s more about exploring the options. There is enough pressure on college students without making them feel they need a 20 year life plan – although conversely it could be said that that is the problem with youth today they’re given to much leeway to explore rather than make decisions/plans

    ps I’ve started writing my list 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well if you’re 18-22, I feel like you’ve been given a lot of time to think about what you want to do or should do. So I don’t think it’s an age thing. I just think kids just aren’t aware of themselves. They don’t know what they’re good at, or what they’re bad at, which is the problem when choosing a career. Kids just need more opportunities in K-12 to figure themselves out better I feel.

      And I love that you’re making the list! please link me when you do, I would love to read it:)))))

      Like

  4. Awesome list Vincent! =)

    Good luck with them all especially…
    #1. Publish your own book- what on? 😉

    #7. Soundcloud is a great free online podcast tool! Used to do a little way back in 2014, it was fun!

    #17. It’s so incredible that this is norm these days for 20somethings =), what would you like to venture in?

    #22. That’s so retro and cool having your own library in the house!

    #28. Which President would you like to meet?

    #35. Ah mornings 😉 I’m kinda an ambivert- but prefer mornings. I think there’s a phrase from Disney’s Tangled that says, ‘Of all the things we’ve seen and done and it’s only 8 in the morning!’

    #36. Secret to that I found is putting my phone on aeroplane mode and turning off wi-fi devices after 9pm.

    #41. I’ve seen pictures of Sweden/Poland White Christmas markets and they look amazingly whimsically magical 😉

    #46. Aw that’s so sweet to build a kitchen for your mother. I’m sure she’ll be so overwhelmed with happiness!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m not sure what book to write about yet. As of now, I’m just writing posts that I think are interesting on a myriad of subjects and seeing which one I would want to maybe expand into a book, so as of right now though, not sure.

      Thank you for the advice, I will check it out one day!

      I think this goal is becoming more common with millennials because millennials are starting to figure out that you can make money doing what you love. And at the same time, starting a business has never been easier. My answer is the same for the first question, which is I don’t know yet. If I did, I would try to pursue it so until I figure it out I’m just going to try to keep learning things that will help me out with one day.

      I like to read books so I need a library:)

      I meant that as in I would like to meet whoever the current President is at the time:)

      hm, interesting, I’ll have to try the airplane mode trick out, thank you for that!

      Thank you for this awesome comment:))

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome for my thoughts/comments =)

        Ah right, meeting the current President! Makes sense. If you could meet a historical President who would it be? For me it would be Abraham Lincoln. ‘And in the end, it’s not the years in your life that count. It’s the life in your years.’

        Let me know how aeroplane mode turns out!

        And yes I agree- either pursuing entrepreneur dreams or working in your career; both are challenging. Few months ago- came across the interesting article- The Myths and realities of doing what you love. http://lifehacker.com/the-myths-and-realities-of-doing-what-you-love-1785409741

        In short- doing what you love, needs grit and determination to see it come through. After all nothing good, ever comes easy!

        Same here, nothing better than curling up on a couch with a good book- reading anything good at the moment? I’m reading The Last days of the night by Graham Moore- it’s about Thomas Edison’s light bulb lawsuits. I kinda need a library too, but have a tendency of leaving books in every room so a good book is never far away. Not sure if I have the discipline for an actual bookshelf!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I would probably like to meet Abraham Lincoln as well:) or George Washington.

        I definitely will!

        I’m currently reading a book about marketing, but I was just recently reading “Influence” by Robert Cialdini, which was a great book.

        A book in every room, I love that:)

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Both equally inspirational =)

        The Influence looks like an intriguing book, might check it out at the library.

        Thanks! It sure is nice, but can get kinda messy- especially when you have to recall which library book is where!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

