6 Tips To Help You Read More Books

Reading truly excites me. I really wish that I had the same love for reading that I have now when I was a kid in middle school. I wouldn’t even be able to imagine how much farther ahead in my journey I would be if I had.

Since 2014 though, which is when I started to read a lot, I’ve made it a goal to read at least one new book a week. After seeing all the positive effects that reading has directly had on my life and on me as a person, I’ve made it a goal to try to get other people to read more so that they can experience the same positive effects that I have.

This is one of the reasons why I started writing. But one question I get a lot from people is how do I manage to read a book a week? It would be nice to have something I can point to when someone asks me this. So here are 6 tips that you can use to help you read more books. I hope at least one of them helps you.

1. Listen to audiobooks

If you struggle to read more books, I suggest you try listening to more audiobooks. In fact, nearly 30% of the population are auditory learners. By listening to audiobooks during your commute to work, the gym, and the store, you can easily get through 20-30 books a year without much effort. If you want, you can even speed up the audiobook so that you can get through a lot more books even faster.

2. Join a book club

I’m part of a few book clubs, and each one is different. Oprah has a book club you can join, and so does the Facebook founder Mark Zuckerberg.

I consider this blog to be a book club because I like to talk about the most important ideas from the book I read. This is how my book club runs. I read a book. I find an interesting idea from that book. And then I share that idea with you so that you can get the benefit of having read that book without ever reading it.

Being apart of a book club is great because you’ll be introduced to books that you probably would have never read. It’s also an opportunity to learn about new ideas that could positively change your life. And it can also be a great source of motivation to get you reading more.

If you want, you could also join a in-person book club. Online book clubs seem to work best for me because it’s convenient, but joining a in-person book club can help you by providing accountability, if that’s what you need.

Each book club, whether it’s mine or Oprah Winfrey’s has different processes. Look at a few of them and figure out what works best for you.

3. Take your books with you everywhere

I take my books with me everywhere. If you ever see me somewhere, no matter where it is, you’ll most likely see me holding a book. This is because there are always opportunities to read. Are you waiting in line at the DMV? Take advantage of that time and read your book. Have 10 minutes between meetings or classes? Take out your book and read a few pages. If you have a book on you at all times, you’ll start to find that there is actually a lot of moments throughout your day where you can grab your book and get some reading done. A little reading done here and there throughout your day will add up to a lot over a weeks period.

4. Read multiple books at a time

This is something I do all the time. Currently, I’m reading two books. I’m reading “The Start-Up of You” by LinkedIn co-founder Reid Hoffman and “Contagious” by Wharton marketing Professor Jonah Berger. The reason I do this is because I find that reading multiple books at once helps keep my mind and thoughts fresh. I get bored easily, so instead of taking a break after I’ve been reading a book for an extended period of time I choose to just read a different book instead. Doing this keeps me engaged and more productive when it comes to reading more.

5. Prioritize reading

Bill Gates reads one books a week. The billionaire investor Warren Buffett reads 400 pages a day.

How do they read so much? Because they prioritize it.

If you want to read more, then reading has to become a priority in your life. If you don’t’ prioritize it, then watching Netflix, scrolling through your Facebook feed, or taking Snapchats of yourself, will always take precedence.

We all have 24 hours a day. There’s no difference, time wise, between you, Bill Gates, and Warren Buffett. Some just know how to maximize their time more efficiently than others.

6. Set aside dedicated time to just read

When you discipline yourself to read at a certain time every day, this helps you create a habit. And creating the habit helps you do more of it and do it more easily.

Connect Deeper

There you go. These are my 6 things that you can do to read more books. If this was helpful to you, and you enjoy reading as much as I do, then please subscribe to my personal blog where I talk about the best ideas from the books I read.

I’m curious to know what you think about this list. Do you have any advice on how to read more books? Let me know what your thoughts are in the comment section below.

7 thoughts on “6 Tips To Help You Read More Books

  1. Before I had a computer, I would read way more books. Generally, if you spend at least 30 mins a day reading, you can easily finish a book a week.

    I also talk about the best ideas from books as well! Check out my inspirational posts, Vincent! The last book I talked about was,”Feel the fear and do it anyway”. Currently, I am reading, “The Slight Edge”. It is so good!! Highly recommended. It’s similar to,”The Compound Effect” but goes through more details I think.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. when you comment links on peoples sites, WP doesn’t show it publicly because it could be someone just spamming. I got them though:) I will definitely read them and comment on them in the next few days okay:)

        Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

