Being Genuinely Interested In Other People

“You can make more friends in two months by becoming interested in other people than you can in two years by trying to get other people interested in you.”

This quote comes from one of the greatest books ever written, “How To Win Friends and Influence People” by Dale Carnegie.

This is one of the many key principles Carnegie talks about in the book: “become genuinely interested in other people.”

This idea is one of my favorite ideas I’ve ever read, and is something I’ve consciously tried to do in my own life.

Since I’ve read this book, I’ve found there is always something genuinely interesting in other people, whether it relates to what they do, what they want to do, or what they like to do.

All I need to do is find that interest I have in someone, and then ask them more questions about it.

Because what I’m asking is interesting to me, I become genuinely interested in other people.

As a result, this builds a greater connection between me and whomever I’m talking to.

Understand that this isn’t some “technique” or “trick” you can use to manipulate other people so that you can take advantage of certain opportunities and find career success.

The main point of this idea is that it’s genuine interest.

As Carnegie says,

“The principles taught in this book will work only when they come from the heart. I am not advocating a bag of tricks, I am talking about a new way of life.”

7 thoughts on “Being Genuinely Interested In Other People

  1. I am yet to read this book. But whatever you perceived from his book is cent percent correct. 🙂
    Genuine talks buds genuine relationships. All we need to do is be genuine. Stay away from being fake. Make two genuine friends rather than attracting a pretentious horde of hundreds.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You had me at your title and “one of the greatest books ever written.” Literally, I didn’t read the rest of your post, I went straight to Amazon and bought the book! This is an area that I wanted to work on and improve upon in this upcoming new year. You helped to give me a head start! So I read the first 3 chapters so far and it’s so full of common sense, no wonder so many of us need help in this area, lol.
    As for your post, I always enjoy them and appreciate them. 😉 However, I am being very sincere in that I took your opinion without even reading why. I did feel the need to come back and read the rest of this post and to comment with what is a long winded “thank you.” I am looking forward to finishing the book and to see where it takes me.
    Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Amy! Happy New Year to you too:))

      This comment makes me so happy. I’m glad you felt that you could trust my recommendation:)

      Question, when you said it was common sense, does that mean you didn’t enjoy it? I hope you do like it though. It’s consistently one of the most praised books by highly successful people. Please let me know what you honestly though of it:) Sorry about the late response, this comment made my day though:)

      Like

      1. Vincent… I am absolutely enjoying the book, I’ve been so busy I actually haven’t finished, but I am determined and captivated enough to finish! What I meant by common sense was that it’s not mind blowing. Some things I was already aware of and the book was a nice reinforcement. The other parts hit me like a dope slap, “of course such and such makes sense.” I could relate it to actions I see other people take and has made me more aware of people skills in general. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

